On ‘MEMOIR’ as a Genre . ‘DECADES’ . Preface .

Memoir

MEMOIR AS A GENRE

‘DECADES’ is my Memoir, my Journal

I believe we are all the same. We share love, hate, loneliness, frustration, despair, anger, ambition, creativity, life’s ups and downs; and a need to be a part of something more than ourselves.

The difference is in the variables … time and place; extent of each person’s need; their choice of belief system; their environment, genes, and their ability to be open to their place in the world; their choice to love .. or not, to be happy .. or not.

It is those variables that create our individuality. And it is that individuality, when written of, makes a good read.

DECADES’ is my memoir, a compilation of stories and essays which document my experiences, growth and feelings through the years and decades of my life.

Some facts are difficult to share, so when I read Sandra Danby’s blog today, it struck a chord. It was relevant.

Sandra Danby and Rachel Cusp (whom Sandra quotes below) validate the creative process of writing a memoir, and the sharing of intimacies.

[photo: www.guardian.co.uk]

photo: http://www.guardian.co.uk

Sandra Danby (sandradan1) wrote:

I agree with Rachel Cusk who said….

“It takes a particular kind of courage to write memoir. All writing – all creativity – involves self-exposure, but in memoir the exposure is twofold. The self is both subject and author, and as authors we are duty-bound to treat our subjects with the greatest possible objectivity. Is it possible, or even desirable, to be truly objective about oneself? And what value does that objectivity, if achieved, have for the reader?”

Rachel Cusk at http://www.mslexia.co.uk/magazine/writing

Sandra Denby continues: “I’ve always been too intimidated to attempt memoir, though I have used my experiences in my fiction particularly for setting. But I do agree that all creativity must involve self-exposure, or be weaker for the omission. Surely in order to write, we have to be self-aware and with that self-awareness comes objectivity?”

So, I ask those of you reading my memoir ‘DECADES’, to consider Sandra’s comments, in particular:         

” … all creativity must involve self-exposure, or be weaker for the omission.”

 …………………………………………………………..

2 thoughts on “On ‘MEMOIR’ as a Genre . ‘DECADES’ . Preface .

Leave a Comment or Reply

