ESCAPE, PROCRASTINATION … or MINDFULNESS . ‘Decades’ . My 70’s .

Sketch of Woman Sketching

My sketch … of a woman sketching.                                                                  Rockwood Provincial Conservation Area

ESCAPE & PROCRASTINATION …                   or MINDFULNESS?

 

Everyone knows that you get lost in a painting you are working on, or a blog you are writing, or a really good book that has you living right there with the protagonist. I imagine the same can be said of any artistic, right brain endeavour. It provides escape from the here and now. One might argue that such passions contribute to procrastination. Do they prevent mindfulness, and living in the moment or, are they the best example of being in the ‘here and now’?

Daniel, a fellow blogger recently wrote: Procrastination is the act of replacing high priority actions and tasks with low priority ones. It is the act of watching television when your exams are 3 days away. It is the act of sitting on your computer instead of going out and socializing.”  www.growupproper.wordpress.com

That really resonated with me. Am I constantly replacing high priority items with more enjoyable low priority items? But who is to say that the relaxation, or painting, reading or writing are not just as important, just as high priority? Sometimes I need those mindless escapes to allow my tense brain to relax so it can function and complete necessary tasks more efficiently.

SKETCH - Leaning Pine & Kayaks

My Sketch – Leaning Pine & Kayaks

All this is rambling through my mind on a morning when company will be arriving. I have high priority chores to do – plan a meal, tidy the kitchen, bathroom, my bedroom … not to mention my daughter’s wedding in 5 days … yet here I sit.

All this has been percolating because I have made a decision to sketch daily, or at least regularly. I am not a good sketcher as evidenced herein, but ‘DECADES’ is my journal and I have always wanted to do a sketch journal. So here I go, occasionally adding a little sumpin’ sumpin’ more to my blogs. After all, if I don’t do it in my 70’s, when will I?

Sketchbook entry 2004

One of my first sketchbook entries from 2004

ORCHID Spent Blossom

tIMG_2924

Top – A Spent Orchid Blossom                                                                                   Lower – my less-than-beautiful Sketch 

I regularly enjoy two sketch journals that I will share here with you. Check out –

www.lizsteel.com/‎  … Liz-Boromini Steel. or see her on Facebook. She is a master sketcher, journalist, world traveller and she generously share her palette ideas with her readers.

And, lovely images to enjoy at ….   http://watercolorjournal.wordpress.com  … by Neelima

Thanks for stopping by. I would love to hear your comments on the matter of escape and procrastination vs. mindfulness and necessary self-indulgence.

…………………………………………………………..

One thought on “ESCAPE, PROCRASTINATION … or MINDFULNESS . ‘Decades’ . My 70’s .

  1. I believe that self-indulgence is necessary but in a balanced way. As long as their is balance, everything is necessary!

Leave a Comment or Reply

