‘The MEANING of HOME’ . Memoir . Now & Then .

THE MEANING OF HOME 

It has been a year and a half in our new home, in a new community, and we still love it here in Wasaga Beach, Ontario. This lovely, lake-front town on the southern shore or Georgian Bay feels like home.

Coco meets new friends on our Autumn 2013 walk on the beach.
Coco meets new friends on our Autumn 2013 walk on the beach.

It is reminiscent of my childhood in North Bay, a three to four hour drive north. North Bay was a small city of about 20,000 when I was growing up, but the beauty lay in its situation between two bodies of water, Lake Nippissing and Trout Lake.

My children enjoying Cottage Life with Grandma & Grandpa Robertson, Trout Lake, North Bay Ontario
My children enjoying Cottage visits with Grandma & Grandpa Robertson, Trout Lake, North Bay Ontario – 1970’s & 1980’s.    ABOVE – Carrie & Andrew watch the sailboat races.    BELOW – Andrew, Stephanie, Joanna & Greg Jr. help Grandpa dry dock the ‘Lady Evelyn’.  

Robertson1985 Andrew,Greg,Steph,Jo c LadyEvelyn

Robertson1982-CottageSign,us,farewel

BOTTOM – We are gathered around ‘The Robertson’s’ sign made by my brother, Steve. L-R Steph, Dad, Andrew behind, Mom, me, Greg Jr, Jo, my brother Greg (yup! – 3 Greg’s in the family). Carrie is missing from last 2 photos  – she was working at Clevelands House in the Muskokas that summer.

All our 40 years in Waterloo Ontario, where my husband Greg and I settled and raised our family, I never felt at home – that is … I felt at home in my homes, but not in the community. Does that make sense? And it was a lovely community, clean, tidy, progressive with two universities, but it was land locked. It did not feel like home to me. And I didn’t even realize it until we moved here, to Wasaga Beach in 2012.

Beautiful Wasaga Beach 2013
Above & below ….. Beautiful Wasaga Beach 2013

WB 2013

I knew I had missed water. My soul yearned for a lake or river or a boardwalk along water. I knew that. I knew I felt restless. Looking back, I think that is one reason I initiated change –  we moved throughout Waterloo Region every 5 to 12 years. But, until we moved here on the South Shore of Georgian Bay, I didn’t realize the need was so fundamental. Sounds as though I was sad, but I wasn’t. There was a longing though.

We enjoyed raising our family in Kitchener-Waterloo. We had lovely homes and lived our lives full of happy and the inevitable miserable times promised us in life …

Happy Family Times
Above – One of our homes in the 1990’s.          Below – Happy Family Times …

Paupst - Fab Five, 40thAnniversary June 6

PAUPST - 2010 Family Hike Beaches, Easter,

Paupst - 08, Apr 20 - All of Us Chatting2

L&G's GRANDS, Oct 2004_2

Our nine adorable Grandchildren 2004 

We have enjoyed lifelong friendships …  a few, really good friends, who stuck with us through all our joys and frailties …

'The Girls' Feb 20, 2011 … & 'The Guys' will be inserted when I can locate it! !#*%
LIFELONG FRIENDS & FAMILY – ‘The Girls’ Feb 20, 2011              & below – ‘The Guys …
The Boyz … at Greg Sr's big 70 Birthday
The Boyz … at Greg Sr’s big 70 Birthday
Barb
Barb in Collingwood, Ontario – Friend since High School, grade 10

NurseBuddies

Nursing friends for 51 years – Gerda, Jan, Ellie, Sue & me.

Greg and I are both homebodies who love home more than anywhere in the world, but we also love to visit, party and enjoy our family and friends.

However, in my case, it is the solitude that has allowed me to publish four genealogy volumes over the years while raising five children, working part-time, enjoying needlepoint, crewel work, art; moving too many times; and being involved in community organizations.

Solitude allowed creativity to prosper - my "Lineages & Memoirs - Genealogies For My Children & Theirs" Volumes I - IV
Solitude allowed creativity to prosper – my “Lineages & Memoirs – Genealogies For My Children & Theirs” Volumes I – IV

So, here we are, full circle for me, back to a home near the water I love. You know, from inside my home on a windy day (with windows open), I can hear the waves crashing against the shore. On a Saturday summer night, I can hear the music wafting through the air, the couple of blocks from the beach to our home.

What I have learned is that home is really important. And even more so … if you are fortunate (as I realize I am), the people who fill your life can enrich it immeasurably.

Joanna&I sitting in the Grand

One of life’s perfect days!   Joanna & I

Family 2006 on LongfellowThe loves of my life- Carrie, Greg Sr, Stephanie, me, Joanna, Andrew & Greg Jr front. They are my home  my joy. Each is a ‘good’ person, socially responsible, industrious, committed to family, proud, fun loving. How lucky am I!

Greg and I on a family hike on the Niagara Escarpment, Grimsby, Ontario. I was goosed by that cane more than once!!!
Greg and I on a family hike on the Niagara Escarpment, Grimsby, Ontario. I was goosed by that cane more than once!!!

My heart and home are where my family and friends are.

………………………………………………………………………………..

2 thoughts on “‘The MEANING of HOME’ . Memoir . Now & Then .

  1. Great to hear from you. We were worried about you, being isolated up there with Greg. You know” The Shining”. We’ll have to get together in the summer. Say hi to everybody.

Leave a Comment or Reply

