QUOTATIONS – a passion . Quotations .

Quotations – a Passion

Inspiration & Reality Check

I love grasping for meaningful quotations, whenever and wherever I am able. When I read a novel, words will spring off the page and make me stop. My heart, or soul, or my reason, fills with familiarity, as though that thought is exactly what I think, or feel, about that particular subject.

That recognition speaks to me of the universality in us all (well, perhaps not everyone).  Over the months of posting my blogs, I have often included quotations I felt were appropriate to the message in the post.

My favourite quotes are scattered on random pieces of paper; in my iPhone & iPad ‘notes’; in the introductions to my four genealogy volumes; in a ‘quotation’ file in ‘my documents’ – everywhere and anywhere. So I am beginning a new blog category, one that will be home for quotations meaningful to me. Subject matter will include life and death and everything in-between.

I hope others of you will find a moment of recognition or familiarity in common in some of them. If not, enjoy, just because.

. . . . .

“And because I love this life

I know I shall love death as well.

The child cries out when

From the right breast the mother

Takes it away, in the very next moment

To find in the left one

It’s consolation.”

RABINDRANATH TAGORE:  from Gitanjali

I love this idea … that I can choose to love my death, as well as my life. So much preferable to fearing it – make it simply one more life experience. Others have. I intend to make this part of my positive thinking from here on.

Note to my children:    Read this to me when the time comes. My memory is pitiful, so I may have forgotten.

 

. . .

 

” … the tragedy of death had to do with what was left unfulfilled.”

ABRAHAM VERGHESE:  ‘Cutting For Stone’

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Leave a Comment or Reply

