More of My SKETCHES 2007-9 . Art Journal . “Just Begin!” .

MORE of My SKETCHES

2007-2009

I discovered, while searching through my art supplies, that my sketching was done in about 10 different sketch books. Only one book is full. The remainder have one, two, or several sketches in each. Kind of wish I had stuck to one at a time.

One sketch book had some quotations along the inside cover. Following are the quotes and more sketches representing part of my art journaling, and more than that  …  part of my life journey.

 

Gill's Winter Garden - 2005
Gill’s Winter Garden – 2005

 

Wild Bouquet - 2009
Wild Bouquet – 2009

 

“Art exhibits a passion for discovery.”

GLENN MORRUTT

(I love this quote, but not sure I have the name correctly)
Door - Cressman Farm Waterloo - 2007
Barn Door – Cressman Farm, Waterloo – 2007

 

Ruins on Cressman's Farm, Waterloo - 2007
Ruins on Cressman Farm, Waterloo – 2007

 

“Art doesn’t create, but discovers.”

UNKNOWN

Ancient Tree, Steph's Front Yard, Glenview Drive, Toronto - 2005
Ancient Tree, Stephanie’s Front Yard, Glenview Avenue, Toronto – 2005

 

Perspective Tips from artist, Podi Lawrence, Waterloo - 2005
My Sketch of Perspective Tips from artist, Podi Lawrence, Waterloo – 2005

 

“You don’t have to be able to draw, to be a good artist.”

UNKNOWN

I apologize for not crediting the quote, but for sure it was one of the artists from whom I took a workshop.

Another artist advised any who wanted to produce art –

“Don’t look. Really see.”

I think that advice helped me more than almost any other to develop as I have. I am still very insecure about my artistic ability, especially when I compare myself to artists with formal training, or artists with innate skill.

But art has opened my eyes. I see the world as tho’ magnified.

Art is meditative – when you begin to focus on your subject, really see it in detail; plan your composition and colours, the rest of the world disappears.

It provides such a sense of accomplishment. I encourage those of you who thought you would like to sketch or paint – just begin! I did, on impulse, ten years ago, having NEVER painted or drawn a thing in my life …

One of my very first Plein Air Sketches - Stone Ruins, Rockwood Conservation Area - 2004
One of my very first Plein Air Sketches – Stone Ruins, Rockwood Conservation Area – 2004

 

I will never be one of the world’s great artists, but that is not my goal. I wake each morning with a sense of passion for art, writing, life. That is enough.

I hope all my Canadian readers have a fabulous May 2/4 weekend!

Until next time … more sketches to follow. I hope you enjoy.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment or Reply

