MIDORI MADNESS . ‘Free Spirit’ . Memoir .

Midori Madness

 

My first waking thought this morning was, “My Midori arrives today.”

I dressed and took Duffy for the short walk to our community mail boxes and worked hard at keeping my excitement contained. My parcel was there. I cradled it under my arm for the return walk and told myself that, before sitting down to enjoy the ceremony of unwrapping, I would first make coffee for my hubby Greg and myself.

“Keep my longing in check. Be responsible.”

For the uninitiated, the ‘Midori Traveler’s Notebook’ is made by Midori of Tokyo, Japan. It is a journal, a planner, a sketch book – it is whatever you want it to be, thanks to the variety of available inserts. What make the Midori special is its classic, understated beauty, its tactile quality, the beautiful Japanese paper in the journals, and an ingeniously simple elastic binding that holds everything in place, simply and effectively.

I referred to the ‘ceremony’ of unwrapping and it is, indeed, a ceremony, not unlike opening a superb Birks or Tiffany present.

First, I removed the outer, basic, protective box and tossed it. Then I begin the experience …

My Midori  - outer packaging 1
My Midori – outer packaging 1 is a sealed, cellophane bag and page describing the Midori

 

Outter packaging, layers: 2 - beautifully folded box with elastic. 3 - Midori protected in a linen pouch
Outer packaging – layers 2&3. Above, Layer 2 – beautifully folded box with elastic. Below, Layer 3 – Midori protected in linen pouch

Dori new 3rd layerLinen

 

My elegant Midori - the treasure unearthed
My elegant Midori – the treasure unearthed

 

My Midori - a close-up.
My Midori – a close-up.

Now, I open my journal and imagine how I will use it.

First peek at the inside cover of my 'Dori'
First peek at the inside cover of my ‘Dori’ Journal – a card stock weight craft paper. Look at the ingenious binding

 

After the inside cover is the simple, elegant title page of my journal.
Following the inside cover, is the simple, elegant title page.

I read the page about the Traveler’s Notebook, that was unearthed in the first unwrapping.

On it, it says, “For all the travelers who have a free spirit.” 

I thought to myself, that is me. I may not travel the world, but I am enjoying my life journey, and I do indeed have a free spirit. So, I immediately know the title and purpose of my journal.

My Title  and a little zentangle decor
My Title and a little zentangle decor

 

But I have a thing – I often don’t know when to stop. I get carried away. I kept going …..

 

Dori FreeSpirit2

And it is a bit much, even for me, but oh well …

Next, I went back to the inside front cover, personalized it and added very important ID –

 

The Inside Front cover of my journal
The Inside Front cover of my journal

The little leather beaver will be recognized by all Canadians. The beaver is our national animal and this leather one is from a ‘Roots’ leather bag of mine. I hope Roots doesn’t mind me re-purposing their leather. I have attached it to the string bookmark in my journal.

 

Finally, I closed the journal and personalized the exterior. I added a heavy, silver logo from another bag, with an attached clasp. I thought that would be practical, because I would be able to clip my Midori ro any bag, belt or pocket. The large logo & clasp look awesome but are heavy for the elastic so I may have to re-think them. But for now, here is my Midori …

My Midori, all ready to go!
My Midori, all ready to go!

 

I will be using my Midori for sketches and writing. Some people have taken theirs down an entirely different road with stickers, charms and scrap-booking items.

I love the natural beauty, and the original concept of the Traveler’s Notebook. In the next couple of weeks, a few other items that will make my journal more functional, will be arriving. For now, I hope you have enjoyed this peek into one person’s experience with the Midori system.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   

 

 

4 thoughts on “MIDORI MADNESS . ‘Free Spirit’ . Memoir .

Leave a Comment or Reply

