PERFECT SPRING DAY . Journal . Sketches in My Midori .

The umbrella-shaped canopy of a beautiful tree in our front yard this morning, provided shade from the bright sun. The sunlight dappled through the lush, spring-green, new foliage and onto the grass. I sat and sketched in my Midori Travelers’ Notebook. All thoughts vanished from my mind but those of attempting to capture the beauty around me.

Forget-Me-Nots in our garden
Forget-Me-Nots in our garden
I sat under the weeping, fragrant branches  to sketch - a delightful morning.
I sat under the weeping, fragrant branches to sketch – a delightful morning.

Two comments:

XL photos look garish. I am working from my iPad – not usual laptop – and it is giving me grief.

I am not particularly happy with the water-colour pencil when blended with wet brush – not as neat as real watercolours. Of course, it could be my technique, or lack thereof. Because they are so portable, I will try a few more times.

 

. . . . . . . . .

5 thoughts on “PERFECT SPRING DAY . Journal . Sketches in My Midori .

  1. I love the way you write! I think the watercolor pencil worked well, really well. Your so precise yet loose with the color. I want these skills.

    1. Thank you so very much. I did like the tree but thought the forget-me-nots looks messy. But I am trying to go easy on myself – not everything we do will result in the desired effect.

      Re you and these skills … ten years ago I thought I could not draw anything! Seriously! and YOU can draw. Just sit quietly somewhere near an object you love; have beautiful music on, and a small sketch book & a micron pen in your lap. Just look at the object for a few moments, calmly; really see the shapes, and even where there may be shadow. Plan in your mind where you might begin. Stay relaxed and enjoy the experience. You will be surprised. Let me know how you do.

    2. My 2nd reply – I just looked at your wonderful, happy, inspirational & artistic blog – you surely do not need art advice from me. I have just ‘followed’ you. Looking forward to your posts.

Leave a Comment or Reply

