ANTICIPATION OF A NEW LIFE . Memoir ‘Decades’ Journey through my 70’s .

It has been awhile since I logged in to my Inknpetals blog and began to write. In part, this is because of a busy summer, now a thing of the past, but also because I have been mentally floating between many projects and thoughts of projects. But my friend Gerda’s call, the day before yesterday, inspired me to put fingers to keyboard today. She phoned to ask if all was well with me – she was concerned because of my lack of online activity lately.

I go in cycles, concentrating on one activity for awhile. Other times I have too many things on the go at once. When that happens, I shut down, curl up and read 8 mystery, detective, forensic novels in two weeks. (Yup – happened end of August!)

I have a new grand child about to be born in less than a month, so many thoughts revolve around the anticipation of this delicious event – our first babe in the family in more than 11 years … and Greg and my 10th grandchild.

I am working on her ancestral lineage – her family tree …

Baby's ancestral lineage, in progress. 10 generations in some lines. So EXCITING
Baby’s ancestral lineage, in progress. 10 generations in some lines. So EXCITING

– shopping for wee items to be opened at upcoming showers …

Gifts ready for our new babe
Gifts ready for our new babe, sitting on a chair that was her great-grandma’s

. fingering through memory-laden baby clothes from 38 to 45 years ago, that were worn by my babies, and some were knitted by my own Mom .                                   purchasing delicate, baby-friendly Ivory Snow to wash some of the treasures .                                                                                                                                                                                              . finding a friend who actually still irons so an exquisite dress of the finest ’embroidered lawn’ will brought back to its glorious potential.

Most responses to my query about who loves to iron, brought guffaws that could be loudly heard on the written, virtual page. I haven’t owned an iron for 20  years.

Sally has come through. I am dropping by next week, coffee in hand and ready for a chat while she irons the dainties.

Lawn baby dress and slip, 45-50 years old (from my Mom for my baby girls), before washing, ironing - ready for our new family member.
Exquisite Cotton Lawn baby dress and slip, 45-50 years old (from my Mom for my baby girls). Before washing, ironing        – to be ready for our newest wee female family member.

I have been yearning to knit a blanket for my newest grandchild. That entailed searching for my needles to see if I already have what I need. That quest, in turn, led to multiple bags of partially finished projects, wool bundles, patterns, knitting & crochet books …..

Knitting Projects Aplenty
Knitting Projects Aplenty

So what to do? I start a KNITTING & CROCHET group – you know – like-minded women who can support each other with glitches, laugh and have fun together. We had our first get-together yesterday. Sue, Wendy and Marion were unanimous in agreeing that I had to complete one or more projects before beginning another. So baby will have to wait for the trendy, chunky wool cover I envision creating in the softest grey, using ginormous needles.

In her blog, “More Quilt & Novel Nonsense”, Anna Scott Graham wrote: “In this rather techie world, aged pastimes are slipping from our consciousness. It’s easier to virtually do so much else, but what else is actually being accomplished?”

An idea to chomp on. I love any creative outlet – writing, painting (tho’ I have not been doing much of that of late), genealogy (love the sloothing), journaling, as well as additional sedentary pursuits like music and reading. I love a mixture of new, addictive technology and the tactile feel of bamboo needles and natural cotton, silk and wool skeins. I love walking my puppy, Duffy, on days like today when the roar of the waves from Georgian Bay, three blocks away, instilled their strength in me. I love to walk when my arthritic feet are calm, when the gentle drizzle blows against me and the few fallen leaves remind me that autumn has indeed begun.

So, Gerda, I am well. I am happy. I am accomplishing a bit and enjoying the strains of ‘The (Canadian) Tenors’ as I wrap this up. Enjoy your Spa in Italy, girl. Such a furcken hardship that will be 🙂 ! I wish.

Hugs to any and all who read this … Tell me what you are up to in your life.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

6 thoughts on “ANTICIPATION OF A NEW LIFE . Memoir ‘Decades’ Journey through my 70’s .

  1. Gerda – I loved hearing that you curled up on the sofa and read a bunch of novels and vegged totally out!! After all the activities. Good for you!
    Sometimes your creativity can be a little daunting for us type A,s!

    You must have pushed an artistic button after our call . I love your pictures , the dresses are beautiful, nostalgic and ” yes” I like ironing, even tea towels , and then your talking about washing with Ivory soap. How nostalgic and loving. Your idea of the blanket sounds so beautiful!

  2. Marsha B – Loved reading this Linda. That beautiful cotton dress you kindly shared with Carla and Cari. How wonderful that you saved it for your newest Grandchild.
    Happy knitting.

    XX

Leave a Comment or Reply

