GRANDDAUGHTER LOVE . Haiku .

Granddaughter Love ~ Evie
 Evie

My husband and I have five fabulous children and ten lovely grandchildren. The first nine are ages 13 to 21 – accomplished, wonderful people who are making this world a better place in which to live.

Since it had been more than a dozen years since we had a baby in the family, I was ecstatic to enjoy this most precious life experience again. I am mesmerized by the reaction even the newest babe has to our holding and talking to her or him. I become lost in the intensity of the baby’s reaction to my murmured words, excited babble, smile, the touch of my hand on her velvet skin.

From the first hour after a baby is born, she or he locks eyes with you when you lean in and whisper words of love. Everly’s response to my voice, touch and  affection from that initial precious meeting made me come alive again. I am so grateful to have this wee darling girl in my life, especially because I thought I would never again experience such incredible joy.

The simplicity and brevity of a Haiku poem says it all.


For Everly

Contentment …
days spent
in granddaughter love.

* * *

Beautiful day in Toronto's High Park, Grenadier Pond area, w Evie, Greg, Tiff. June 19, 2015
Beautiful day in the area of Grenadier Pond, in Toronto’s High Park, with Evie, Greg, Tiff. June 19, 2015

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Leave a Comment or Reply

