MOUNTAIN CLIMBING & TRUFFLE FRIES … B.C. TRAVELS, day 7 . Memoir .

Today is my last day in Golden and the sun is shining gloriously. Early this morning the family headed up the 14 kilometer winding mountain road to the base of Kicking Horse Mountain. From the resort and shops, gondolas take us up another 4300 feet to the top where we are perched at 7700 feet elevation.

Stephanie, Jeff, Brendan and Tyler are eager for their mountain adventure. They are taking part in the Kicking Horse “Via Ferrata” (Italian for ‘iron path’) climbing experience.

Via Ferrata - 'Iron Path'
Via Ferrata – ‘Iron Path’
The Boyz are Pumped
The Boyz are Pumped
Geared up & ready to go!
Geared up & ready to go!

After a brief lesson and practice …

And they're off!
…  they’re off!

They hike to the mountain (off to the right) where they will begin mountain climbing.

While they are busy at that, I head to the restaurant for coffee – I am a little early and they don’t open for lunch for 20 minutes.

Eagle's Eye Restaurant
Eagle’s Eye Restaurant – highest restaurant in Canada – above the clouds, with a 365 degree view of five National Parks. 

I choose a seat with a view of my family on the rock face across from my table.

View from my table - Yup - that is them way up on the mountain
View from my table. Yup – that is them way up on the mountain

A ‘close up’ and the mountain climbers are barely discernible. Here is a ‘close-up’ –

The Climbers - look for yellow dots center, above & between the suspension bridge & the binoculars
The Climbers – look for yellow dots in the centre – above & between the suspension bridge & the binoculars.

While they were busy testing their endurance and conquering their fears, I was enjoying myself –

Truffle Fries w Manchego Cheese & coffee in the Eagle's Eye Restaurant
Truffle Fries w Manchego Cheese & coffee in the Eagle’s Eye Restaurant. Amazing!

Then I went outside to enjoy the views

Windblown me on the mountain topA Windblown Selfie atop the mountain.

Back home, Steph harvests vegetables from her garden

Beets - 3 varieties, & tomatoes
Beets – 3 varieties, & tomatoes
A bouquet of Incredibly colourful Swiss Chard, Kale, & edible Nastursiums
A bouquet of incredibly colourful Swiss Chard, Kale, & edible Nasturtiums
Another devine dinner. I think our girl should open a restaurant or teach a cooking course
Another devine dinner. I think our girl should open a restaurant or teach a cooking course

It has been a lovely, fun-filled week with my daughter, Stephanie, her husband Jeff, as well as my two fabulous grandsons, Brendan and Tyler. Thank you for more wonderful life memories and the opportunity to spend time with you.

Love,  Mom

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

4 thoughts on “MOUNTAIN CLIMBING & TRUFFLE FRIES … B.C. TRAVELS, day 7 . Memoir .

  1. Kay – thanks so much for reading & commenting. I just love it! It is gratifying to learn that someone is actually reading.
    And I agree re food – one of the primary joys for me.

  2. I feel like I was visiting along with you. Beautiful pictures – and you know I’m all about the food too!
    Safe journey. Kay

Leave a Comment or Reply

