SO, SEW ! .

Hello and thank you to followers of Inknpetals.wordpress.com who have stuck by me during a long blogging drought.

The past few months, I have been reinventing myself (again), thinking a lot, and planning. That takes a lot out of you 😉 . I haven’t painted in about a year. Instead, my creative juices and reveries are leaning toward sewing and quilting. This is a big leap. I haven’t sewn in 40 years. As a result, the challenge has been a kaleidoscope of a learning curve – becoming familiar then comfortable, with a new machine, re-learning to work those oh-so-tricky bobbins, choosing fabric (such gorgeous, juicy colours and patterns to choose from). Everything is new.

Fabric Stash
Fabric Stash

I buy fabrics that I absolutely love, and find projects simple enough for a beginner, ones I hope my five kids will like as well. You see, I don’t want to put a lot of money and work into an item that ends up in a drawer. I realize that, even if you know them pretty well, guessing someone else’s taste is a crap shoot. As a result, my fabric stash is growing so I think have something for everyone.

The biggest dilemma I have faced is deciding on fabric colour and pattern combinations. It is more difficult that one might think to achieve a pleasing, balanced and artistic combo of colours, values and patterns. Following are some of my first attempts at combining fabrics …

Trial Colour and Pattern Combos Combo2 Combo3 Combo4 Combo5 Combo6

More learning curve frustration occurred while working on early projects – gobs of tangled and knotted threads on the underside of the fabric and my machine jammed constantly. The result of this was hair-pulling frustration. Ultimately, after putting out SOS signals, I discovered I was filling and inserting the bobbin incorrectly.  😬 😂

Eventually, through determination and two refresher courses at the store where I bought my machine, I finished my first sewing projects in about forty years … a baby quilt, two hobo bags and a little black bag:

Label for Evie's Quilt My first Quilt ... for Everly, Oct.2015

Little Black Bag, Oct.2015

Sew-Gerda wearing my Tote

Reversible canvas tote
Reversible canvas tote

Then, I tackled Christmas presents. That will be my next post.

This is fun and addictive!

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

 

6 thoughts on “SO, SEW ! .

  1. Love some of your combinations!! Particularly the pinks and the black and creams! You might want to try working with some precut packs – they really helped me get started with quilting! There are loads of Amazing jelly roll quilt designs out there! Happy quilting! Am sure your kids will love whatever you make!

    1. Thank you so much. I really appreciate the feedback. I haven’t been sewing much since Christmas. Ideas percolating but no action. Re your jelly roll suggestion – I bought one last fall and am ‘afraid’ to unroll it. I am thinking I may just use the long strips in random sequence, rather than cutting for small piecework pattern.

      Thanks again for reading, for your comment and support.

Leave a Comment or Reply

