SMOKE 3 … B.C. TRAVELS, days 4 & 5 . Memoir .

Who’da thunk it? The smokey haze continues but we aren’t letting it get in the way of enjoying the end of summer 2015. Well, the others aren’t letting the smoke impede their activities, but I am walking around sounding like I have C.O.P.D.  For those not aware of the acronym, it is Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease – nothing you ever want.

I arrived in British Columbia with the last stages of a chest cold still clinging on. It should be over by now, but my chest is tight and I am continually apologizing for my terrible hacking cough, so I figure perhaps the smoke is contributing to my discomfort (and by association, the discomfort of everyone around me).

Stephanie, Brendan & Tyler spent Wednesday, Day Four of my visit in beautiful Banff, Alberta. We did the tourist things – shopped until we dropped, enjoyed yummy lunch at the Magpie & Stump, an authentic Mexican restaurant. Then off to the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. Boy, more than a century ago the CPR (Canadian Pacific Railway) sure knew how to build incredible hotels for weary travellers crossing this beautiful country via train.

Views of the castle-like Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel exuding a bit of the history of Canada
Views of the castle-like Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel exuding a bit of Canadian history – one of the fabulous Canadian Pacific Railway hotels.

BSH2 Steph & Bren - Banff S HStephanie, Brendan & the marble Bear

Day five, we stayed around home in Golden BC.  Bren and Ty accomplished a few necessities prior to heading back to university next week. I amused myself with my book, my laptop, a wee walk around the property.

Above - view of Steph & Jeff's home, bunkie, garden & Steph's garden shed Below - Stephanie's impressive garden
Above – view of Steph & Jeff’s home, bunkie, garden & Steph’s garden shed
Below – Stephanie’s impressive garden

Steph's GSteph worked from home, then cooked up some culinary delights.

Steph's Kale Pesto - so fresh and delish.  Ingredients - olive oil, lemon juice, kale, spinach, basil, garlic cloves, S&P. Yum!
Steph’s Kale Pesto – so fresh and delish.
Ingredients – olive oil, lemon juice, kale, spinach, basil, garlic cloves, S&P. Yum!

Before dinner, we headed for a walk along the Kicking Horse River. Simple pleasures remain the most memorable somehow.

The boys and Steph skipped rocks across the river while I searched for river rocks that appealed to me. Of course I will lug them back to Ontario.

Above - My Kicking Horse River-Rocks Below - Steph, Bren & Tyler searching for good skipping rocks, Kicking Horse  River, Golden, British Columbia
Above – My Kicking Horse River-Rocks
Below – Steph, Bren & Tyler searching for good skipping rocks, Kicking Horse
River, Golden, British Columbia

Steph, Bren & Ty searching for skipping rocks in the Kicking Horse River, Golden B.C.Last year I brought home stones to make an Inuksuk – a memory of the large one the boys and I made for Steph so she would remember that “we too passed this way”. My small rocks are still on a shelf in the garage.

Our Inuksuk for Stephanie - here with her boys 2014.
Our Inuksuk for Stephanie – here with her boys 2014.

Dinner was a scrumptious taco salad …

Dinner - a delish Taco Salad
Dinner – a delish Taco Salad

Good night all. I am off to bed to get rested for grizzly bears and mountain top adventures.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

 

Leave a Comment or Reply